Only Few Friends are for Lifetime

My feeling now is better than when I was writing my last blog post – “Don’t Forget To Say I Love You“. My husband is recovering fast and thank God for the gift of friends and pals “online” who are able to journey with us in this ordeal.

Wait what? — “Online” friends? Yes, you have read it right!

You see, we are new migrants and the absence of family, relatives and good old friends has made our experience last week quite different. But with prayers and encouragement from some friends back home, whom we are able to connect via social media only, have been helpful.

How is their distant support made meaningful? Well, I believe it has something to do with the words empathy and sympathy! The two may rhyme but now I understand that they are not synonymous. While Sympathy is defined as a feeling that you care about and are sorry about someone else’s trouble, grief, misfortune; Empathy means more than just the feeling. It is actually the capacity to understand and share in the experience of another.

In relation to my husband and I’s experience, a lot of the people we knew as friends did not care. friendsHowever, some of them gave both sympathy and empathy which we deeply appreciate. I guess that’s just life! Only Few friends go with us for a lifetime. Only few of them made sure we go through it with strength and inspiration through prayers, words of encouragement and by simply listening to our heart’s outpouring…which I think is more than sympathy – it’s Empathy! It is being able to listen with an open mind and a listening heart.

Indeed, a small act kindness can mean a thousand difference to someone in need regardless of boundaries and situations.

I admit this chapter in our life now is tough. However, I just want to look at the brighter side of things. The eye of the storm has just passed as the operation has been successful. Thus, we are grateful!

However, it is still rainy now; but I know it will not rain forever. They said “Happiest people don’t wait for the rain to stop but they learn how to dance in the rain!

Thanks for reading this post. Have a blessed day!

