Who Controls the Dice?

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I can’t believe how the Snakes and Ladders game can be a great source of enlightenment!

My two daughters were playing Snakes and Ladders. Just when Miss 3 year-old was almost catching up with her elder sister, she landed on number 14. A number that depicts a big snake waiting to devour her and made her slide back to space number 4. Yup! 10 steps backward. That’s why she got so upset.

Then, they had this exchange –

Youngest daughter: “Hannah, why do you always give me to snakes, snakes, snakes?”

Eldest daughter: “No I don’t. I am not the dice!

lovelettersandthoughts.wordpress.com copy

Of course! =) While, it is very funny listening to my two daughter’s conversation, I cannot help but confess that I can relate well to their two statements.

  • First, there are times when blaming becomes an easier solution to not feel bad about something than admitting that life can be unpleasant sometimes.
  • Second, there is danger in the thinking that we can be perfectly in control of everything. Such that when setbacks come along, we let shame and failure eat us.

Thus, during these times, I hope to be reminded by Og Mandino’s lines “Never be ashamed for trying and failing, for he who never failed is he actually who never tried.”

Lastly, in the past, I mostly think that if you are vulnerable you are weak. But it actually does the opposite as according to Brene Brown‘s book Gifts of Imperfection and I quote:

Owning our story can be hard but not nearly as difficult as spending our lives running from it. Embracing our vulnerabilities is risky, but not nearly as dangerous on giving up on belonging, love and joy – the experiences that make us the most vulnerable. Only when we are brave enough to explore the darkness will we discover the infinite power of light. – Dr. Brene Brown.

Thus, from now on, I hope to accept and see things in a different light.

via Daily Prompt: Control

 

