Who Says?

As a mother to two adorable daughters, I am humbled each day by their presence. I mean, they used to be just that miracle of life which blossomed from a minute uncertainty to vivid reality. Such that, as they grow up before my eyes, I wish I can protect them and shelter them in all ways I can. However, when they start to set out themselves into the real harsh world, it is a fact that it will be their own battle.

Thus, if there is one song that I want them to remember in times when some people may cause them to not believe in themselves and in their dreams, it is this song – Who Says by Selena Gomez.

Particularly because I like to tell them these lines:

  • Who says, who says you’re not perfect?
  • Who says you’re not worth it?
  • Who says you’re the only one that’s hurtin’? Trust me, that’s the price of beauty
  • Who says you’re not pretty? Who says you’re not beautiful?
  • Who says you don’t pass the test?
  • Who says you can’t be the best?
  • Who says you’re not star potential?
  • Who says you’re not presidential?
  • Who says you can’t be in movies?
    Listen to me, listen to me

In time, eventually, I hope that they will find their self and purpose. And say:

  • I’m no beauty queen, I’m just beautiful me
  • I wouldn’t wanna be anybody else

So, to not hold you for long, I hope you would enjoy listening to this song to self, just as I do and my kids:

Here are the lyrics of the song:

Who Says by: Selena Gomez

I wouldn’t wanna be anybody else, hey

[Verse 1:]
You made me insecure,
Told me I wasn’t good enough.
But who are you to judge
When you’re a diamond in the rough?
I’m sure you got some things
You’d like to change about yourself.
But when it comes to me
I wouldn’t want to be anybody else.

II
I’m no beauty queen
I’m just beautiful me
You’ve got every right
To a beautiful life, C’mon

[Chorus:]
Who says, who says you’re not perfect?
Who says you’re not worth it?
Who says you’re the only one that’s hurtin’?
Trust me, that’s the price of beauty
Who says you’re not pretty?
Who says you’re not beautiful?
Who says?

[Verse 2:]
It’s such a funny thing
How nothing’s funny when it’s you
You tell ’em what you mean
But they keep whiting out the truth
It’s like a work of art
That never gets to see the light
Keep you beneath the stars
Won’t let you touch the sky

[Repeat II and Chorus]

[Bridge:]
Who says you’re not star potential?
Who says you’re not presidential?
Who says you can’t be in movies?
Listen to me, listen to me
Who says you don’t pass the test?
Who says you can’t be the best?
Who said, who said?
Would you tell me who said that?
Yeah, who said?

Overall, through this song, I want to convey to them that there is always at least One person who will always believe in them – me. And ultimately – God, who created them with a talent and for a purpose.

I just truly wish and have faith that they succeed and remain happy in all their endeavours and relationships in the future.

Thanks for reading and listening with me!

XXX LynDurante

Subscribe and follow on twitterFacebookGoogle+

Pursue

One thought on “Who Says?

  1. Pingback: My Pink 6 year old Surfer | love letters and thoughts

Comments are closed.