What’s In a Name?

what's in a name - lyndurante.com

My last post in this blog has been exactly five days ago. Although I have been trying my best to make sure I write daily, it seems that a few days ago I was really busy tweaking some features on my self-hosted site LynDurante.com. And whether you believe it or not, I was working on my About Me page for two days. Well, you can tell I was really writing from the heart.

But, oh, it was a great mindfulness exercise! I was awestruck doing it. In fact, along the way I get to understand the meaning of my name and I’m loving it more! Believe me, I’m an introvert and this helps me enormously.

If you would allow me, I would like to share them with you.

Lyn is a nick name that my family calls me since I was little. Growing up, various people who come to know me have called me in different lovely names. However, it is only now that I will embrace the “Lyn” name deeply. Researching about it, “Lyn” used to be a famous name for boys rather than girls in the early 1950’s. It has a German, Hebrew and Spanish origin that has various meaning such as a tree, leader or lion-like. Later when used predominantly for girls, it was derived from the name Linda, which means beautiful. I love this last meaning of course! Because it’s something that I need to be reminded of always!

What’s more enlightening? When I googled “Durante“, it gave me a Spanish translation that writes “During“. There you go! Ultimately, I had my aha moment. I am convinced that I should start owning my story and believe that I can be of inspiration in some ways to others.

It is when I combined the meaning of my name Lyn Durante – that I appreciated it. It is “Beautiful During“. Well, it seems queer if I leave it at that, right? So I had to tweak it in a way that would also summarise my purpose for opening a blog. Therefore, I changed it to “Beautiful Moments in Time“.

This is now a perfect tagline for my Travel and Happiness Blog – LynDurante.com where I aim to share our family travels, fun memories and inspiration. I have always loved travel, photography, kids fun and all things inspirational which have also become my roadtrip back to happiness.

After going through depression for a while, unhappiness is not a strange word for me. It is only until I realised how being happy had to be a daily decision that I slowly get back on track. And truly, writing has helped me discover myself again as go over my scribbles.

Thus, from now on, I hope to be wearing a new pair of glasses and change my paradigm. I will choose happiness always everyday. I will remain thankful for all the opportunities and blessings that come my way. These two will be my habit towards happiness goals.

In fact, I got so hyped up that I consequently decided to make a logo –

lyn durante logo

This is going to be a new life mantra for me to focus on beautiful moments – perfect or imperfect.

Moreso did you know that there is one meaning of Lyn that I also really love? It was from the Welsh. And I shared it in my about page, at nearly the last part.

Overall, hopefully it makes sense more now why I am using it as my domain name. =) (Well actually, I’m just kinda forgetful and boring, thus I used my name.)

Thanks a lot for reading! Don’t forget the like, comment or share.

Lyn Durante

Read more:

via Trace

